When you get into an accident, you may discover that the other driver does not have an insurance policy.
At first, it may seem like you have no options to pursue the compensation you need to recover, but that might not be the case.
Here’s what you should do if you get hit by an uninsured driver in California and how our attorneys may be able to help.
What Are California’s Car Insurance Requirements?
According to California Insurance Code § 11580.1(b), all drivers must carry liability insurance with the following minimums:
- $15,000 for the injury or death of one person,
- $30,000 for the injury or death of more than one person, and
- $5,000 for property damage.
This requirement applies to drivers who do not apply for self-insurance. In some cases, a driver may have proof of insurance in the form of a $35,000 deposit with the DMV or a self-insurance certificate.
However, this is quite rare, and most drivers opt for a liability insurance policy instead.
How Can I Recover Damages in a Car Accident with No Insurance in California?
If you happen to get into an accident with a driver who has no insurance, your options for pursuing compensation may be limited.
This is why California encourages drivers to enroll in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. While it’s not required by law, it’s included in all insurance policies unless you sign a waiver refusing coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage allows you to claim damages with your own insurance company if you get hit by an uninsured driver in California.
This includes compensation for injuries to you and any passenger in your vehicle as well as damage to your vehicle.
Currently, this coverage pays for injuries up to your policy limit and vehicle damages up to $3,500.
What Should I Do If Hit by an Uninsured Driver in California?
If an uninsured driver causes your accident, the process afterward is similar to a standard crash.
First, make sure you are safe and get checked for injuries by EMTs or a doctor. The sooner you get checked, the better.
Second, if it’s safe to do so, try to collect as much evidence at the scene as possible. Take pictures of your injuries, vehicle damage, and any adverse road conditions. You may also gather contact information from potential witnesses.
Finally, once you receive treatment and collect your evidence, call one of our car accident attorneys.
Since the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance, pursuing compensation is much more complicated than in a standard accident case.
We’ll help determine the best legal avenue for you based on your needs.
Injured by an Uninsured Driver? Call Weinberg Law Offices Today
When you get hit by an uninsured driver in California, it may seem like you have no options. However, there may be strategies for pursuing compensation that aren’t immediately known.
At Weinberg Law Offices, our goal is to empower our clients and present all of their options. From day one, we’ll manage every aspect of your case and consistently communicate with you.
To schedule a consultation, please call us at 818-697-1079 or contact us online.
Disclaimer: This content should not be construed as legal advice.