When you get into an Uber or Lyft driver car accident in California, you may have several questions about pursuing damages.
Can you sue Lyft for an accident? How do I file a claim if I’m a passenger? What if the driver hit my car during a pick-up or drop-off?
Here’s what you need to know about a Lyft or Uber car accident in California and what insurance policies apply.
California Uber Accident Passenger Insurance
Both Uber and Lyft provide car accident insurance for drivers while they are working. However, coverage changes depending on what stage the driver is in on their app.
For example, if a driver gets into an accident while picking up or transporting a passenger, Uber applies the following coverage:
- $1,000,000 in third-party liability,
- Comprehensive and collision coverage, and
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage.
This same protection applies to Lyft passengers as well. However, keep in mind that this also covers the rideshare driver. This means that you may end up making a claim under the same insurance policy offered by Lyft or Uber.
One of the major factors that determines liability in a rideshare accident is the employment status of the driver. In many states, Lyft and Uber drivers are independent contractors instead of employees.
This means that the driver is liable for any accident that occurs. In California, this may change if the Supreme Court repeals Proposition 22. Even then, rideshare companies will most likely deny their liability in an Uber or Lyft driver car accident in California.
Another factor that may affect liability is the status of the driver. Generally, drivers fall into one of three periods when out on the road.
When the driver travels without turning the app on, they are solely responsible for any crash and must go through their own private insurance policy. However, when the driver turns on the app and waits for a ride request, they enter period one.
During this time, Lyft or Uber provides them with the following insurance coverage:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person,
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident,
- $30,000 in property damage per accident ($25,000 for Uber), and
- $200,000 in excess liability.
Once someone requests a ride, the driver enters period two, and when they pick up a rider, they enter period three. During both of these times, Lyft and Uber offer the $1 million third-party liability coverage listed earlier in this post.
Injured in a Ridesharing Accident in California? We’re Here to Help
Being involved in an Uber or Lyft driver car accident in California can be very confusing, especially if you are a passenger.
However, the attorneys at Weinberg Law Offices can help you determine the right course of action. We have experience handling cases involving Uber and Lyft drivers and know the difficulties that come with them.
To schedule a free consultation with an attorney, contact us online or give us a call at 818-697-1079.
Disclaimer: This content should not be construed as legal advice.